65th Anniversary Commemorative Service

A Commemorative Service to mark the 65th anniversary of Australia's first contribution to a peacekeeping mission in 1947 was held on Anzac Parade, Canberra on 14 September 2012. The ceremony was held at the proposed peacekeeping memorial site, and was attended by the Minister for Defence Science and Personnel Warren Snowdon, Senior Defence Members, Australian Federal Police and the general public.

Left to right: The Director United Nations Information Centre Canberra Mr Christopher Woodthorpe, the National President United Nations Police Association of Australia Superintendent Mick Travers and the President United Nations Association of Australia Mr Bill Bannear, prepare to lay wreaths.
Left to right: Jim Illfield, Leonie Illfield, Sgt Michelle Lomas-Travers, Geraldine Doogue AO (Patron, Peacekeeping Memorial Project), Supt. Mick Travers APM, Sgt Dale DJC Cooper RFD, and Denis Percy.